Archive for the ‘News’ Category

New “Phantom-Wooer” Video

Monday, July 2nd, 2012

MoonCCat in France has created an extraordinary new video that includes a musical performance of “The Phantom-Wooer.” A link to the video is available from the Video page.

A Beddoes Microscope

Thursday, January 26th, 2012

A microscope that possibly belonged to Thomas Lovell Beddoes or his cousin William Minton Beddoes is illustrated and discussed at Dr. Allan Wissner’s website devoted to antique microscopes:
http://www.antique-microscopes.com/photos/Schiek_microscope_137.htm.

Two New Books About Beddoes

Tuesday, December 13th, 2011

Two new books about Thomas Lovell Beddoes have been published: Science, Politics, and Friendship in the Works of Thomas Lovell Beddoes (University of Delaware Press) by Ute Berns, and, for readers of French, Trois Excentriques Anglais (Belles Lettres) by Lucien d’Azay, which in addition to Beddoes profiles Aleister Crowley and John Gray. Both books are now available from online booksellers.

The Ivory Gate

Tuesday, November 30th, 2010

ReScript Books has just published a new edition of Thomas Lovell Beddoes’ The Ivory Gate, edited and with an introduction and notes by Alan Halsey.

This is the first separate edition of Beddoes’ later poetry in English, featuring the surviving fragments of The Ivory Gate (c.1837). The fragments are re-arranged from Donner’s 1935 Works, which has until now been the only complete collection. The other poems are presented in roughly chronological order and include unused passages from the later version of Death’s Jest-Book. The poems have also been freed from the intrusive titles supplied by previous editors. This edition attempts ‘to “see Beddoes plain”, to strip his later work (or what remains of it, surviving his own and others’ penchant for destruction) of any paraphernalia not of his own making: to present the poems and fragments as they might have appeared in one of his notebooks.’

106pp. isbn 978-1-874400-50-9. £9

The book can be ordered at

http://www.realitystreet.co.uk/rescript-books.php

& is also available from info@westhousebooks.co.uk.

Call for Submissions

Friday, October 29th, 2010

Phantom-Wooer invites submissions of original articles, news announcements and other items. All manner of Beddoes-related material is welcome. Submissions may be circulated to editorial advisors for review prior to being accepted and posted on the website. Submissions should be sent to the website manager, Richard Geyer, at geyer@phantomwooer.org. Copyright remains with the creator.